Is New Mexico A No Fault State?
New Mexico is indeed a fault state when it comes a car accident claim. Liability and reimbursement for car accident injuries always depends on the state where the accident took place. Fault insurance is the most common form of liability for most states. The at-fault driver will be responsible for all damages caused by the accident. Car insurance will have to cover the damages from the crash.
Car accident victims can recover compensation by either seeking out payment from your insurance company which will then take a look at the at-fault driver’s insurance company for reimbursement. You can also open a claim with the at-fault party’s insurance company yourself. Or you can file an injury lawsuit and pursue compensation by way of the courts.
Have you be injured in a car accident in New Mexico? Consider filing a lawsuit against the at-fault driver? We handle car accident cases throughout all of New Mexico. Give us a call today at (505) 242-7200.
Laws having to do with at fault vs. no-fault follow the state, not the driver. If you were hit by someone in another state, but are a permanent resident of New Mexico, you will have to follow the laws of the state in which the crash occurred.
New Mexican drivers must carry a minimum of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident and $10,000 for property damage on their insurance. State law requires residents of New Mexico to have this minimum amount of car insurance coverage to drive on the road. It is always a good idea to purchase more than the minimum amount of coverage in case of a serious accident.
No fee unless we win guaranteed. You can take comfort in knowing we are here to help you through your car accident case on your way to recovery. The Davis Kelin Law Firm is New Mexico’s Premier Personal Injury Law Firm. Give us a call today at (505) 242-7200.